Proud to be Canadian?

It has taken me a while to formulate what I wanted to write in terms of this topic and is one I have spent a lot of time thinking about over the last while. Chelsea first brought the idea of Indigenous people not being proud to be Canadian or not even calling themselves a Canadian. When I first read about this idea  I was a little surprised because it is not something I had considered before. Growing up and travelling around to different places, I was always very proud to be Canadian, we’re known for being nice, and polite and helpful. How could I not be proud? as soon as someone knew you were Canadian, they seemed to be double as nice. As I began to reflect on this idea of not being proud, I began to gain an understanding of why one wouldn’t be. I suppose if I had gone through what our Indigenous people had in the past, I don’t know if I would be a proud “Canadian” either.

This idea was reinforced when Russell shared his story about being invited to be apart of Canada’s 150 celebration. At first I was thinking wow, that is pretty darn cool but then he began to share that he didn’t want to be apart of it. He isn’t a proud Canadian and why would he want to be involved in such an event. I then remembered what Chelsea has shared in her reading and I understood.

Leave a Reply

