Inspiring

As I sit and reflect on yesterdays presentation from Sheena’s students, I can’t help but feel inspired and moved. What Sheena has created for her students is so incredible. Listening to each and every one of those boys stand in front of a group of university students and share their stories and their knowledge with us is something to be admired. I found myself feeling emotional during parts of their presentations. There were some powerful words and quotes spoken yesterday that I will never forget. To see these young men taking and stand, learning about their history and sharing their experiences with us was very motivating to me. It reinforces the importance of relationships, knowledge and opportunity. The respect those students have for Sheena is something I dream of having from my students. To see her pride after they were done presenting and how emotional she was honestly inspired me to continue this treaty walk. To further my understanding of treaty issues and reconciliation and to continue to be a part of it. Feeling inspired to carry on and continue to make meaning of these experiences we have been presented with throughout this semester.

Leave a Reply

